Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 3rd, 2009

Four days and counting

I realise that I have been incredibly spoilt over the years. When I was quite young I started going to one particular hairdresser in Oslo. One day they asked me to choreograph a hair show for them, and in return I got free hairdressing for a year. It was always the same girl doing my hair, their Danish stylist who eventually became their manager. Then she returned to Denmark, but before she left she handed the reins over to her assistant, Helene. She made sure Helene was fully versed in my hair, hanging over her like a hawk keeping an eye on every last snip of the scissors, making sure every strand was groomed to perfection.

I had fabulous hair.

When the deal was up I stayed with Helene. I was not their most frequent visitor after my year of free hairdressing and she occasionally had to do a bit of a rescue job, but I always knew I would walk out of the salon looking like a million dollars. Well, my hair did.

Helen is now manager of the salon, and I go there when in Norway — as long as I remember to book her well in advance. She is not just manager, but their top stylist, a talented singer and simply a great person. With enviable hair… she has the thickest naturally wavy hair I have ever seen. Dark. And she always knows if I’m not in the mood to talk. About dogs.

Anyway. Got to go. Have spent the morning waiting for Telekom Austria to turn up to move my internet connection, phone and TV to my new address. Which they did not. My fault… I got the date wrong, it seems. “Third” and “fourth” sound so similar in German…

Four days down, one thousand and ninety one to go.

Read Full Post »